(hangs head)

Um, hi faith. It’s me, Rebecca. Yeah, I know, you haven’t seen or heard much from me lately, except at church.

Did you know I got engaged? Yeah, I did. I think I talked to God about it, but I don’t remember. I don’t do well with bringing the big things up or remembering them when I pray. Even when they’re good things. True story.

My dog died, too. That was sad. I cried and probably forgot to talk to God too much about that as well. I don’t do really well with bringing up the sad, either.

So I got this new puppy. He’s kind of crazy and he doesn’t do a good job of giving me space in the evenings to spend a lot of time before my icons and in prayer.(I think that’s what is commonly called an ‘excuse,’ right?)

Oh, by the way, did I mention today I failed miserably at my attempt to do Lent today, right out of the gate? I did. Failed. Miserably. I mean, I didn’t eat meat or anything, but boy, oh boy. I hated people about 45 seconds into my day at the courthouse. You know — people looking for their 15 minutes of fame, child killers (alleged), too much work, too little time and an itch of injustice in a place I can’t scratch.

I did make it my entire class at HU without swearing, so there’s that. I let them go early so they could watch the Bachelor and I could go home. Then I promptly swore in the parking lot when the puppy trotted off to explore somewhere he shouldn’t.

So, this Lent thing. I’m going to start over again tomorrow, well, right now, I guess. I’m going to finish up here, take my prayer book and go stand before the icons. If I have to put the puppy on a leash to do it, I will. But I’m not sure what he’ll do when I start praying the prayer of St. Ephraim.

That should be fun.

Author: Rebecca

Orthodox Christian. Writer. SAR K9 handler-in training. All three of those are deeply related.

3 thoughts on “(hangs head)”

  1. Love you my dear sister, rest assured you are in our prayers. Our salvation requires us to fall down, get up, fall down, get up, wet hair, lather, rinse, repeat… 😉

  2. Dearest Rebecca…as a lifelong sinner/learner, I ask God for forgiveness every day and thank Him for the chance to ask for forgiveness today. Then I try again. As you age, it will get a little easier except everyday that it doesn’t! Don’t be discouraged. I think Satan uses his magic against us in discouragement. Keep on trying and God will keep on blessing you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. They are an encouragement to me. P.S. I’m so glad you came into our lives!!

Leave a Reply

